Bad Days

We have good days, we have bad days. Today is a bad day. N has always been hard to talk to. She’s great at taking in our discussions on each topic, or listening to conversations and stories. She can easily recount what happened in a story we read months ago, but can’t take in basic instructions. I’ll ask her to grab a certain set of worksheets, I’ll tell her exactly where they are, and she’ll come back a moment later with something completely different to what I asked for.
My days are becoming increasingly frustrating with her. I find myself repeating everything I say to her on a daily basis. It’s days like today that make me feel I should put her name down for the local school. I want so much to be able to give her a good start in life. I want her to be able to leave home as an adult who is capable of fending for themselves in the real world. I have to remind myself that she won’t always be so ignorant but it’s just so hard.
Bad days are the ones that make you feel as though you’re failing at home education. These are the days that I feel the loneliest and most in need of a break. Let’s face it, most home educating families don’t really get time away from their children. Some may not want to, but some need to.

Bad days are draining.

Natalie

Author: mumstheword

I am a mum.Married.In the UK. Home educator.

Leave a Reply

